Toast: Why Not?

30 Jun

Today the blogs are aflutter with the age-old question: what’s up with the toast thing? Here is my thoughts on why. This essay may be missing fact and logic. Don’t say I didn’t warn ya.

Today I am going to write an essay on why there is a sudden Toast Revolution on SL. I think it’s as simple as “Why Not?” or “Just Because” or other non-reasons that your mother told you were reasons why you should not blow milk-bubbles through your straw or tilt your chair back on the back 2 legs.

Back to the toast: I blame the Japanese. They are always coming up with crazy, lovable things like this. And I don’t think there’s ever a good reason why. I came to this careful assessment because the first toast I remember in-world was a freebie from the Little Girl Doll place.

So you have cute, free Japansese-created Toast that, when attached to the mouth, looked super duper uber cute and pleasantly dorky and unique. People started taking pictures and shared them via Flickr and blogs and it made other people go, oh how cute, toast in your mouth, I want that too.

Then more designers made their own toast versions. And more people collected and wore the toast and liked it and it was good.

People started seeing each other with toast and feeling a connection to each other despite this big, cold uncaring world. A connection that comes with doing silly, nonsensical things together. Something Like Toast. Or Blingis!

Toast is simple, toast is plain. But it’s good and comforting. Toast is in danger of getting overlooked for more important, technologically advanced things like iPhones and atom-smashers. Remember when we almost forgot about cats? Then the cat lobby came up with the showstopper of all memes LOLCats and now kittehs have safely guaranteed their future importance well into the next century.

And that is my essay on how the Toast Revolution started. The End.

9 Responses to “Toast: Why Not?”

  1. Tymmerie Thorne June 30, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    OMG! Finally!!! Thank you!!!! 😀

  2. CeNedra June 30, 2008 at 5:47 pm #

    A++ Excellent essay 😀 Gold Star!
    I love this post.
    Thank you.

  3. Alicia June 30, 2008 at 6:23 pm #

    Yay!!! This is way better than my post on toast. I didn’t know about the Japanese toast. LOL

  4. Willow Caldera June 30, 2008 at 7:15 pm #

    The sentence “Remember when we almost forgot about cats?” has officially made my year. ‘Giggle’ is not a strong enough word!

  5. elusyve jewell June 30, 2008 at 7:38 pm #

    all hail toast…toast can unite the world@@@

  6. Cerrie Janus July 1, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    I need to get some of the toast with the jam on it! Tis the best toast with jam I say! /me sings “Jam tomorrow, jam yesterday. But never ever jam today!”

  7. QueenKellee Kuu July 1, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    Yes! Free the Jams and Jellies!!

  8. Paulina Oceanlane July 5, 2008 at 2:59 am #

    “Remember when we almost forgot about cats? ” – that part about lolCats made me really, really laugh! Brilliant analysis.

  9. Bettye Dugan July 9, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    Toast.
    It’s the most,
    it’s bread you roast.
    Toast.

Leave a Reply

