Husk

12 Jun

A few days ago my friend Rob was checking up on me. He always keeps me on my toes about how my shop is coming (shhhhh), and if I’ve seen the latest and greatest SL builds. When he asked if I’d seen AM Radio’s new(ish) installation called Husk, I winced and admitted that I had not.

He drug me there (tp makes it easy hehe) and from the moment things started to rez I was nearly speechless.

Husk

One of the things I love about AM Radio’s work is that he has this enormous ability to capture Place and to evoke such an emotional impact. In his builds I am *there* so deeply: I hear the sounds, smell the smells, and am always lost in my own personal memories that his pieces trigger in me.

Husk

What surprised me most about The Husk was exactly *what* place it reminded me so much of….Burning Man. Well, technically more the locale itself of RL Burning Man festival that I have attended for 8 years now (this year, in August, will be #9).

Almost all SL’ers know that every year there’s a Burning Life festival held in Second Life in an homage to (what I believe) to be Second Life’s Burning Man roots (dear Phillip attended BM in ’99 from what I hear and it had a lot of do with how he came to see the possiblities of SL and shape the idea of “Your World, Your Imagination“).

But SL’s Burning Life itself, although noble and wonderful, is a different beast and loses something in translation of Place that The Husk perfectly captures. Not that I can put my finger on what that is exactly…sometimes emotions don’t have words.

Husk

Burning Man, like Second Life, is hard to explain or sum up in a few sentences; in fact the Burning Man Org themselves say that trying to explain it is like trying to explain color to a blind person. So today at least I’m not going to do much ‘splaining bout Burning Man (check out the website if you are curious). But I also want to warn ya’ll: as the Burning Man event draws closer, I will be thinking about it more and talking about it more and I’m appologizing right now that by the middle of August you might just be sick of hearing about it, already.

Husk

Ok, now that I said I was gonna cut the chatter, I have to say this: when I saw the sewing machine at Husk, I could not get over it. Seriously, does AM Radio has a direct line into my subconscious memories or something?? I generally do a lot of sewing in preparation for burning man, and one year even sewed a “dress” for a bus (that striped fabric is all me baby). That year we were so behind in our art project that I ended up having to bring my sewing machine along on the trip so I could finish the sewing while I was there, a bittersweet memory…

Visit Husk.

2 Responses to “Husk”

  1. Sehra Kauffman June 12, 2008 at 10:17 pm #

    That sim seems really cool. I mean REALLY.

    Thanks for the share!

  2. Krissy June 13, 2008 at 5:17 am #

    Yep, definitely thanks for sharing! And I checked out the Burning Man website and I must say it fascinates me. 40,000+ people?? wow.

Leave a Reply

